Laser rate equation using ode45

In summary, the conversation is about a person requesting help with writing MATLAB code for laser rate equations and plotting the LI characteristic of the laser. They have provided a function they have written and are getting errors when they try to run it. They are seeking assistance with troubleshooting the errors.
vinny
Hi,
I've attached the problem that I'm trying to solve. I've also done the manual calculations to calculate Ithreshold. I'm not very good with MATLAB and I need MATLAB code for laser rate equations and I also need to plot LI characteristic of the laser.

I_th=qV/(η_i τ) N_th=qV/(η_i τ) (N_tr+(α_i+1/2L ln⁡〖1/(R_1 R_2 )〗)/Γa)=76.73mA

P_out=(η_i (I-I_th)〖⋅V〗_p⋅hν⋅α_m⋅v_g)/(qVν_g a(N_th-N_tr )-〖εη〗_i (I-I_th)).

Please help me out with the code using ode45. All your help is much appreciated.

Regards,
Vinny

Attachments

• problem.docx
    347.9 KB · Views: 255
Physics news on Phys.org
function dy = rate_equation(t,y)
dy = zeros(2,1);
ni=0.9;
Lambda= 1.55*10^-6;
q= 1.602*10^-19;
V= 1.75*10^16;
a= 0.5*10^-20;
E= 1*10^-22;
Tau= 2.1*10^-9;
Ntr= 1*10^24;
Gamma= 0.3;
B= 1*10^-16;
Alphai= 3000;
Bsp= 1*10^-4;
ng= 3.7;
R1=0.32;
R2= 0.32;
L= 350*10^-6;
Alpham = (1/(2*L))*log(1/(R1*R2));
vg = (3*10^8/1.55*10^-6);
Taup = 1/(vg*(Alphai+Alpham));
Rsp=0;
I= 76.73e-3;

dy(1)=(ni*I)/q*V-y(1)/Tau- vg*a*((y(1)-Ntr)/(1+E*y(2)))*y(2);
dy(2) = Gamma*vg*a*((y(1)-Ntr)/(1+E*y(2)))*y(2)+Bsp*Gamma*Rsp-(y(2)/Taup);
end
is the function I wrote and when I use [T,Y] = ode45(@rate_equation,[0 10],[0 0]) the command window becomes non responsive. Please help me.

clear all
close all
clc

options = odeset('RelTol',1e-4,'AbsTol',[1e-4 1e-4 1e-5]);
[T,Y] = ode45(@rate_equation,[0 10],[0 0], options);
plot(T,Y(:,1));
title('carriers density in high laser level')
hold on;
When I run this I get the following errors

? Undefined function or method 'd' for input arguments of type 'char'.

Error in ==> rate_equation at 25