Language for a theoretical physicist

In summary, the conversation discusses the best language for an undergraduate student to learn in order to become a theoretical physicist. German and Chinese are both suggested as options, with German being more relevant for physics due to its historical significance and availability of resources. However, Chinese may be more useful for an engineer working in Asia. The importance of studying hard and following one's interests is also emphasized.
WackStr
Hi,

I am an undergrad majoring in Physics. I want to be a theoretical physicist. What language would help me more (in any way)? German or Chinese?

Thanks,

Physics news on Phys.org
Well I'm in the same position as you. I'm half way through a physics undergrad and beginning to take an interest in theory. The last thing I have considered is which languages I should learn.

But I suppose German wouldn't be a bad choice, a lot of modern physics was originally done in German so it might be nice if you wanted to read the original papers. I think Chinese would be more useful for an engineer who worked in Asia a lot, but even then nearly any Chinese person you would work with professionally would speak English anyways.

To me it seems that most critical communications in theoretical physics would be done with equations and diagrams, so I think math would be the language you would want to learn best.

But these days, in nearly every industry, English is going to be the one most people understand.

The best one will be the one that interests you and you can do well in so as to not drop your grades. Only partially joking, I'd consider C++ as your language.

Mororvia said:
The best one will be the one that interests you and you can do well in so as to not drop your grades.