Kinematics Free falling acceleration Physics question

In summary, the first rock falls faster than the second rock and both rocks hit the ground at the same time.
Brownk

Homework Statement

Okay so the question is..A stone falls from rest from the top of a cliff. A second stone is thrown downward from the same height 3.99999 seconds later with an initial speed of 78.3998 m/s. They hit the ground at the same time.

How long does it take the first stone to hit the ground? The acceleration of gravity is 9.8m/s^2.

and

How high is the cliff?

Homework Equations

vf= vi + a*t
vf^2 = vi^2 +2*a*d
d = vi + (1/2)*a*(t^2)
where vf= final velocity, vi= initial velocity, a = acceleration, d = distance, t = time

The Attempt at a Solution

Okay so this is my first time posting on this forum and forgive me if I do something wrong but here is what I tried to do.
For the first rock,
vf= ?, vi= 0m/s, t=?, a= 9.8m/s^2, and d=?
And the second,
vf=?, vi=78.3998m/s, t=?, a=9.8m/s^2, and d=?
Am I missing something or am I missing 3 variables for each of the rocks?? I don't really know where to go without another variable for one of the two...Thanks for any help

Physics news on Phys.org
I'm not sure how to approach this one. Is that all the question gives?

If I had to guess, I'd assume that for stone 2, initial velocity = final velocity.

But I don't think that is the correct way to approach this.

By doing that, you could calculate the height of the cliff and then calculate the time it takes for the first stone to hit the ground using tstone1 = tstonge 2 + 3.9999

are you allowed to use conservation of energy? or is this purely kinematics?

It sounds like kinematics, given you have no masses to work with.

jarednjames said:
I'm not sure how to approach this one. Is that all the question gives?

If I had to guess, I'd assume that for stone 2, initial velocity = final velocity.

But I don't think that is the correct way to approach this.