Killing Earth with a cosmic flashlight

• Thread starter AmoebaMan
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Earth
In summary, a gamma ray burst would wipe out all life on the day side of the blast, except for those deep underground or in shielded bunkers. There would also be massive depletion of the ozone layer, atmospheric nitrogen dioxide production, and photochemical smog. However, the survivors would need to be prepared for harsh conditions, as gamma rays would interact with molecules in the atmosphere similarly to gamma rays produced by high-altitude nuclear explosions.
AmoebaMan
I'll start by saying that there are a number of other sub forums that this would be applicable to, but this seems the most appropriate.

I'm a engineer by trade, but I've been doing some creative writing lately, and for an idea I'm working on I'd like to hit my hypothetical Earth with a gamma ray burst. For those of you who don't know, a GRB is a cosmic phenomenon where something big happens (like two neutron stars colliding) and a large--and incredibly powerful--collimated beam of high-intensity radiation is shot forth across the universe. In the event that it somehow manages to strike Earth head on (odds probably similar to scoring a bullseye with a dart on a target across the Atlantic), science predicts lots of nasty things to happen.

For the sake of the narrative, I'd like to ignore those odds, and talk about what kind of consequences could be reasonably expected, both immediately and in the near and distant future, if Earth were to get nailed by one of these suckers. I want to make sure that I've got the facts as correct as possible. The desired end-state is basically the worldwide destruction of civilization, but not the extinction of humanity. I want to knock mankind down, but not out.

I've done some research on my own, and this is what I've come up with:
  • All orbital installations on the day side of the blast would be wiped out, notably including GPS and satellite telecommunications.