Just a quicky, which one of these two is correct? Logarithmic integrals.

In summary, the homework statement is trying to find the derivative of each function using the power rule, but they get stuck at 1/s^2.
Sensayshun

Homework Statement

[tex]\int\frac{ds}{s^2}[/tex]

Homework Equations

None really...I suppose [tex]\int\frac{a}{bx + c}[/tex] = [tex]\frac{1}{b}ln.a.(bx + c)[/tex]

The Attempt at a Solution

Pretty much, using the formula above gives you:

[tex]ln(s$^{2}$)[/tex]

But I was thinking, if you rearrange [tex]\frac{ds}{s$^2$}[/tex] to [tex]s$^{-1}$[/tex] then presumable it integrates to -[tex]\frac{1}{s}[/tex] + c?

4. My own comments:
I didn't know that this BB would support LaTeX, that's awesome! I hope it's formatted correctly, I'm not too good with latex.

edit: it didn't format correctly, original question is integration of ds/s^2
My two possible answers are: ln (s^2) OR -1/s^2.

I hope that makes sense.

Thanks for any help given :)

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Both answers are wrong. What is the derivative of each function you have calculated so far? If it's not 1/s^2 the answer is incorrect. Write 1/s^2 as [itex]s^{-2}[/itex]. Now use the normal power rule for integration/differentiation, do you see why it breaks down for 1/s? (important)

No, you cannot do
[itex]\int \frac{1}{s^2}ds[/itex]
as a logarithme. While it is true that [irtex]\int (1/x) dx= ln|x|+ C[/itex], because, of course, (ln|x|+ C)'= 1/x, it is NOT true that [itex]\int (1/f(x)) dx is ln|f(x)|+ C[/itex]. It is not true because, if you were to differentiate that, you would have to use the chain rule:
(ln|f(x)|+ C)'= [1/f(x)]f'(x) which is not the same as 1/f(x).

The only correct way to [itex]\int (1/s^2)ds[/itex] is to write it as [/itex]\int s^{-2} ds[/itex] and use the power rule.

That's what I was trying to do, write it as [tex]\int s^{-2}[/tex] which surely then goes to [tex]-s^{-1}[/tex] ?

Thanks by the way, very speedy responses.