Jumped off a 50 foot cliff today. i have a broken disc too.

• Thread starter brokeback1986
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Broken Disc
It is important to be careful and consider potential injuries, especially if you have a pre-existing back injury. It is better to be safe than sorry.
brokeback1986
hi everyone. newbie here and i havea question that has to do with my personal experience.

Today i jumped off a 50 foot cliff into deep water. the current was calm. i found this cliff at "great falls" virginia. me and a bunch of friends decided to jump off a cliff which was approxomity 50 feet high. Me being naive and trying to be tough, i jumped off the cliff with a bad back that i had injured 6 months ago. i have a bulging disc in my lower back. it was my first time jumping 50 feet ever.

my friends had told not to look down into the water when jumping but to look straight ahead. so jumped off, and i was in air for about 3 seconds. but during the fall i kinda looked up which caused my body to turn backwards like a 45 degree angle exposing my *** into the water. i landed feet first but my *** hit the water hard. so hard that my *** started hurting for 10 seconds. it felt like someone took a paddle and smacked me real hard in the *** cheeks.

My question is... did this put a lot of strain on my back? was the impact absorbed from just my ***?
i know if i jumped off a chair and landed my butt on concrete, I am pretty i would mess up my back too.

as of now i feel no pain but I am starting to wonder. can this type of impact put a lot of strain or pressure on my lower back area??

any input would be appreciated. my writing skills arent good so if u are still confused ask me...

i think it doesn't put strain on my back because my whole body did go thru the water so it wasnt like i stopped completely during impact.

Physics news on Phys.org