Job Market for Control Engineers?

In summary, the conversation focuses on the field of Control Systems and its applications in industries such as aerospace, automotive, robotics, and machinery. It is suggested that a MechE specializing in Control Systems may find job opportunities in various fields and may need to have a master's degree or PhD for more advanced positions. The conversation also mentions the difficulty of obtaining a security clearance for certain jobs and the importance of being proficient in MATLAB, AI, dynamics and kinematics, and control theory for a career in this field. It is also noted that working in the US may require company sponsorship due to ITAR requirements.
vinicius0197
I've been giving a look at some of the electives in my college - I'm a student of MechE - and became interested in Control Systems, specially after I borrowed some books in the subject in the library and read a little bit more about it.
I wonder how big is the field of application of this knowledge in industry, and in which branches a MechE specialized in Control Systems could work.

Physics news on Phys.org
What kind of applications of Control.Systems are you familiar with? Maybe stuff like vehicle guidance, robotics, stuff like that? :smile:

Basically yes... I've searched a little bit about some applications in aerospace stuff, as this is my primary interest field.

Have you spent some time at the large Aero company websites? Their "job opportunities" and other pages should start to give you a good feel for the opportunities... :smile:

I've been giving a look at Boeing mainly, but sadly looks like all their jobs require security clearence...

Probably don't need a security clearance to work on Google's self-driving cars... :smile:

vinicius0197 said:
I've been giving a look at Boeing mainly, but sadly looks like all their jobs require security clearence...
are you not eligible for a clearance?