Is Video Game Programming Possible?

In summary, it is possible to become a video game programmer, but you will need to learn linear algebra, C++, Calculus1-3, and computer graphics. You will also need to be a good programmer and be dedicated.
westee222
I go to UC Davis and was thinking about switching to the computer science/engineering major(currently in bioengineering right now) with the idea that I could get into the video game programming/development world. I have had limited experience with coding (just some minor things to control little systems in my high school engineering class) so I'd be starting from a little more than scratch.. Is that just a dream job or is this really possible? I am in my first quarter of my freshman year so switching majors would be not a big deal.

Physics news on Phys.org
It is very possible to become a video game programmer. However, you will need to learn linear algebra, C++, Calculus1-3, and ideally take a course on computer graphics that uses either OpenGL or DirectX, courses in physics related to optics, and mechanics is useful.

After this it is just a matter of gaining enough programming experience to become one, you could start by writing small games in college. Do not think too big, think pong, breakout, tetris, asteroids, and simple things.

So it is not too late to get into programming?

And thanks so much for the advice!

westee222 said:
So it is not too late to get into programming?
No it shouldn't be to late; why would it? Just learn those topics, especially linear algebra, C++, and direct x and/or open gl.

I'm just a little worried because it seems like others majoring in comp sci/engineering have been coding for a while already.

Hey westee222.

Having been a game programmer in the past I can tell you that you must live and breathe games and programming in order to get hired. It pretty much takes up every moment of your time and it's all you pretty much do.