Is Struggling with Novel Physics Problems Normal for Undergraduate Students?

In summary: Lots of it. And if they were still having problems, I would give them a few open-ended problems with solutions in the back of the book to try and get them more comfortable with the concepts.In summary, Courtney's Law states that the correct answer to most complicated physics problems is bounded by the solutions to two much simpler physics problems. In order to become a proficient physicist, it is advised to keep working on difficult problems until they become routine.
WWCY
Hi all, I am an undergraduate Physics student.

I have recently realized that I am extremely bad at solving "new" problems related to the topics I am working on. Trying to do any question that deviates slightly from the norm will cause me to be stuck on that problem for hours, usually to no avail. I have told myself the usual cliches of "take a step back" and "try it from another angle", but none of these seem to work. It's gotten to the point where I'm wondering if Physics is the right path for me as I know being a physicist requires one to be able to solve novel problems, not just chugging through stuff you've learned before. My results, as they stand, are fine but I believe unless I sort this problem out they will slip as the work gets harder.

I'm working extremely hard, but I suspect, not extremely smart. Does anyone have any advice? And also, is this something normal in the course of studying physics?

Thanks in advance!

Physics news on Phys.org