Is My Idea for a Small Ion-Engine Satellite Feasible and Original?

In summary, an ion-engine could be built to put on a cube satellite, but it would need to be small and powered by a solar panel. It would take around 1.5 kg of solar panels to power the engine for one year.
Zamot40
Would it be possible to build an approximately 10x10x10 cm ion-engine to put on a cube sattelite? I am a university student, so we have a lot of tools, but not a lot of money.
What do I need to consider and how much would it cost?

Engineering news on Phys.org
Before the question of "could you", think of "should you".

It is easier to conceive of a thruster that makes a trivial small thrust. But what would the point be?

If it makes a significant thrust, then it could disrupt the orbit of the sattelite and NASA would probably not allow it.

Likes Greg Bernhardt
I suspect you could make a thruster that small, but powering it would be a problem.

Thank you for the answers. With regards to the should, I do not know a lot about sattelite orbit legislation, but I imagine there are some international rules so they do not collide. But what if I wanted to fly my sattelite to the moon and orbit that instead?

How large would the solar panels need to be in order to sustain a small ion-thruster? Or should it just carry a large battery? (I imagine this would be ineffecient due to the added weight.)

Zamot40 said:
Thank you for the answers. With regards to the should, I do not know a lot about sattelite orbit legislation, but I imagine there are some international rules so they do not collide. But what if I wanted to fly my sattelite to the moon and orbit that instead?

How large would the solar panels need to be in order to sustain a small ion-thruster? Or should it just carry a large battery? (I imagine this would be ineffecient due to the added weight.)