Is my country teaching physics the wrong way?

In summary, Engineering is the first choice of every wannabe physicist in your country. Not necessarily wrong, but not necessarily right.
Natcu
Let me first clarify that I am not going to expose which country I am talking about, not yet!

So, about four and a half months ago I was a fresh high school graduate and for the last two years I dreamed about becoming a physicist and had planned to get a Bsc/BS degree in Physics. Sadly, In my country there are no SATs to decide in which university you go to, only the percentage you score in your high school and unfortunately I missed a seat in the only university I could go to by not more than 2%.

But that's not why I am writing this post.

There are two ways to get PhD in Physics in my country. The first one in Bsc - Msc - Phd and the second one is BE/Btech - Phd, Yes! the engineering graduates can go for PhD directly after clearing an exam which Msc guys have to give anyway! and they have the satisfaction of being an Engineer if something goes wrong!

And that is not all, it is very competitive to get into a Msc program in a good government university (There is no value of private universities in my country). Adding to that, there is no job that an Msc in physics can get you, so your only option in PhD!

So engineering is the first choice of every wannabe physicist. isn't it wrong? shouldn't physicist have a bachelor's and master's in physics? what do you think?

Physics news on Phys.org
Not necessarily. Many physics Ph.D holders in the US don't have master's degrees, and those who do usually just get them as an added bonus during their Ph.D program. Without knowing more about the kind of work the engineer to PhD people do, it's hard to make a judgement.

Heh, your description of how your country does physics makes me suspect I know which country it is. But since you did not want to say I will not guess.