Is it possible to love math and hate physics?

In summary, it is likely that you do not like physics as much as you thought you did. Physics is a difficult subject, and it can be difficult to understand the concepts for those who are not used to precise statements. However, physics is useful for those who want to understand the origins of mathematical concepts.
Atoweha
I am a mechanical engineering student and I have realized that i do not like physics as much as i though i did. I seem to have a brain freeze everytime i start a physics problem. I only did a degree with physics because my mom is a physics teacher.
I don't mind math and i love finance, but i seem to hate physics. In Engineering, people say that they hate it because every problem seems like a math problems to them, for me, i hate it because every problem seems to be a physics problem, i don't mind the math...?!
I am taking fluid mechanics and thermo dynamics and just plain on dynamics and it all seems like physics brain fry!
So is it possible to love math and hate physics at the same time?

Physics news on Phys.org
it is, but it is wise to try to recover from that state. math is basically physics made precise. thus raw physics is hard to understand for those of us used to precise statements. but physics is useful for those of us wanting to understand where the ideas for the math came from. what i really hate is a lecture from a physicist who takes all the physics for granted and tries to show off how mathematical he can be. he teaches me nothing that way. i don't to hear about differentiable manifolds and tensors from a physicist, i want to hear why manifolds and tensors are the right model for the physics.