Is it difficult for engineers to switch to mathematical fluid dynamics research?

In summary, the conversation discusses the difficulty of switching from numerical/applied research in engineering to more analytical/formal mathematical fluid dynamics research. The speaker also asks if anyone is working in mathematical fluid dynamics and provides some recommended texts on the subject. They mention that most current research focuses on computational aspects and the modeling of turbulent fluids. This is important for designing vehicles and analyzing the effects of combustion in devices like engines.
Bunsen
Hi guys,

I studied mechanical engineering and I am currently a graduate student (turbulence modeling).

I am interested in the more formal/mathematical aspects of fluid dynamics, which are mainly worked in mathematical faculties and I would like to know if someone knows/have an idea about how difficult is, for someone with an engineering background to switch from numerical/applied research to more analytical/formal mathematical fluid dynamics research.

There is someone there working in mathematical fluid dynamics?..

I thank you in advance for any answer...

Physics news on Phys.org
I have only peripheral exposure to mathematical fluids dynamics research- the current work I see has a lot of functional analysis and differential geometry. Some relevant texts you may wish to consult:

Pozrikidis "Introduction to theoretical and computational fluid mechanics", aimed at the advanced undergrad/grad
Holmes, Lumley, Berkooz, Rowley "Turbulence, Coherent structures, Dynamical systems and Symmetry"
Lions "Mathematical topics in fluid mechanics"
Galdi, Rannacher, Robertson and Turek "Hemodynamical flows: Modeling, Analysis and Simulation"