Is it a good idea to repeat low first year classes to boost your overall GPA?

In summary, a student is wondering if they should retake some courses in their last year of undergraduate studies in order to improve their GPA for graduate school. Some universities require a 3.0 undergraduate GPA for admission to their graduate programs. Repeated courses will replace the original marks, but the original marks will still show up on the transcript. It is recommended to retake courses if the GPA is below 3.0, but it may also be beneficial to focus on upper-level courses and demonstrate competency in the field. However, it is important to research the specific requirements of the schools and programs in order to make an informed decision. It is also suggested to address any lower grades in a statement of purpose.
zheng89120
I am a 3rd-4th year student planning to try and get into graduate school in my field of study. But I got some terrible marks in my first year in courses relating to my program (science and math courses), and in a non-related course. Since some universities specifically require an undergraduate 3.0 GPA to get into their graduate program, I was wondering if I should retake a few of these courses in my last year. In my university, marks from repeated courses will replace the original marks (but the original ones will still show up on my transcript). I am wondering if this would be a good idea, considering that my later year courses tend to build on my first year classes. Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
Depends how bad they were. If they were C-ish and you've improved, getting As and Bs (mostly As) in later courses, I wouldn't worry incredibly as long as you're above the GPA threshold. If they were Ds or Fs or your GPA will be below 3.0, it would be worth it to retake some but only if you're confident you can get top marks this time around.