Is Fear of Rejection Holding You Back from Pursuing Your Ph.D?

In summary, it sounds like you are currently in a situation where you have two goals: to complete your current papers and to pursue a PhD. You are afraid to pursue a PhD because of the fear of rejection and the difficult process it entails. However, if you are interested in completing your papers and want to pursue a PhD, it is important to apply to the programs you are interested in and to remain competative.
saphyni
Hi,
My situation is just like someone who is running on a treadmill. He is running without getting anywhere!
A couple of years ago I got my masters in physics (condensed matter) working on Density Functional Theory and simulation. My masters thesis ended with two papers which I submited one of them to IOP and got rejected and I was really depressed to submit it elsewhere and the other I submitted to physica E and they returned it to me saying I have to change some formats.
I didn't try to submit my papers again because I was afraid of the heavy feeling of rejection and I must add that my supervisor couldn't help me that much because he is not up to date AT ALL.
Now I am left, I study every paper which is related to my field and I have kept myself very update and I'm still working on simulation. Having the ambition to get my Ph.D, I have taken my GRE test which I am waiting for its result.
I know that it is hard to get admissions from US universities these days and I am afraid not getting to it. I don't want to repeat the experience I had in my country and continuing Ph.D with such supervisors.
Anyone can give me a hint what I can do? Is it better that I start working much harder on a paper alone or I should try to find a uni to cling to a Ph.D program?

Physics news on Phys.org
Hi saphyni, welcome to PF.