Is Blood Red or Blue? Debunking Common Misconceptions

• Thread starter Chillionaire
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Blood
In summary: "you're as blue as a ball of ice.") deoxygenated blood doesn't contact oxygen, so it turns dark red.
Chillionaire
My brother is under the misconception that blood is blue.

I'm not that good with explaining things, but so far I have convinced my dad that blood is red. My brother just does not believe that blood is red and not blue.

What are some facts to disprove the misconception that blood is blue?

I am in 9th Grade taking AP Bio and my brother is in 10th grade taking Bio, so please keep it as simple as you can. Or I can just simplify it for him 'cause he won't understand anything I will say. Also the fact that he thinks just because he's older, it means he's smarter.

So what are some explanations?

Biology news on Phys.org
Chillionaire said:

I'm not that good with explaining things, but so far I have convinced my dad that blood is red. My brother just does not believe that blood is red and not blue.

What are some facts to disprove the misconception that blood is blue?

I am in 9th Grade taking AP Bio and my brother is in 10th grade taking Bio, so please keep it as simple as you can. Or I can just simplify it for him 'cause he won't understand anything I will say. Also the fact that he thinks just because he's older, it means he's smarter.

So what are some explanations?

Show him so blood and ask him why it's red. When he says whatever reason he thinks it turns red then ask him HOW that occured. It'll show he doesn't actually understand. Hemoglobin can not be blue, it's just not possible you would have to take the Fe2+ ion out and put something in it's place to make it blue.