Is a Ph.D. in Photonics offered by Physics or EEE better for me?

In summary, the conversation discusses a physics student's final year project on a phase-locked laser system and their interest in pursuing a PhD in photonics. They are unsure whether to pursue a PhD in EEE or physics and inquire about the differences between the two divisions. They also mention specific institutes that offer photonics PhD programs.
cks
I'm a physics students and I'm in my Final Year now. The title of my final year project is phase-locked laser system. I have quite some fun playing around with the mirrors, lens and laser stuff.

I'm interested in doing my phd in photonics related area. I'm not sure whether I should go for phd in EEE or physics. However, I am curious are there any difference between the photonics offered by physics division and those offered by EEE?

Physics news on Phys.org

Why not directly do a photonics Ph.D.? The only ones I'm familiar with are Institute of Optics at Rochester and CREOL at Central Florida. I'm pretty sure there's others, as well.

I cannot definitively say which option is better for you as it ultimately depends on your specific interests and career goals. However, I can provide some information that may help you make a decision.

Firstly, it is important to understand that photonics is a multidisciplinary field that combines principles from physics, engineering, and materials science. Therefore, both a Ph.D. in Physics and a Ph.D. in EEE can provide a strong foundation for a career in photonics.

A Ph.D. in Physics may offer a more theoretical and fundamental understanding of photonics, with a focus on topics such as quantum optics, laser physics, and electromagnetic theory. This may be a good option if you are interested in pursuing a career in research or academia.