Is a European PhD possible with a UK MPhys degree?

• Admissions
  • Thread starter cameron
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Phd Uk
In summary: I am worried about being instantly disregarded at the application process. In summary, the person is studying for an MPhys in the UK, which is considered equivalent to an MSc and BSc. The structure is slightly different, with the first two years being the same as a bachelor's course and the third year spent in Denmark with mostly masters courses. They have the option to do a "bachelors project" in Denmark and the fourth year is split between a masters thesis and courses. The person intends to do a PhD in Europe, but is concerned about only having 3+1 years of study compared to the usual 3+2 in Europe. They have contacted professors in Denmark and the Netherlands, but
cameron
Hi,

I am currently studying for an MPhys in the UK. In the UK this is considered essentially equivalent to an MSc and a BSc although the structure is a little different: the first 2 years are the exact same as a bachelors course, then my 3rd year I am currently spending in Denmark doing mostly masters courses. It is not usual to do a "bachelors project" but I do have the option to choose do that in Denmark. The fourth year is half a masters thesis and half courses.

I intend to do a PhD in Europe (either Denmark or the Netherlands) but I am concerned about the fact I have only been studying for 3+1 years whereas most people in Europe do 3+2. I have emailed a few professors listing PhDs in both countries and they have just replied saying they "need an MSc". I'm not sure if they are not aware of the MPhys or they don't think it is good enough, but either way I am worried about being instantly disregarded at the application process.

Does anyone have any experience with this, or any advice with how to increase the chance of being accepted?