Applying for a European PhD position with a UK MPhys degree

In summary: European universities... self-study a lot of the material. This can be rough, but it's often worth it in the end.In summary, the person is applying for a PhD in Europe and has a bit of background in theoretical physics. They are worried about their situation given what they have read, but are reassured by what they have heard. They are going to continue applying and are going to self-study a lot of the material. They are worried about getting in, but are hopeful.
matthewh806
Hey,

I'm looking for a bit of advice with regards to applying for a PhD program in Europe.

As a bit of background: I graduated from Durham University in 2013 with a 1st class MPhys in Theoretical Physics. My thesis (which contributed to half of the grading in the 4th, masters year) was focused on exploring physics beyond the standard model in the Higgs sector. I've been working in the software industry for the past 3.5 years since graduating, the past 1.5 being in Amsterdam. Now I'm hoping to return to theoretical physics and work towards a PhD in the Netherlands.From what I've been reading about the differences between the UK / European education systems. It seems that in the rest of Europe the MSc is much more specific (and possibly even more intensive) than the integrated masters (MPhys) that is common in the UK. Additionally the MPhys is just 1 year as opposed to 2.