Is a Background in Materials Science Essential for a PhD in Nuclear Materials?

In summary, it is difficult to pursue a PhD in materials science if you do not have a background in materials. It is recommended that you learn about materials at grad school. Many professors in the area have both experimental and computational work, so you have a chance to choose which part you would like to engage in. The competition for nuclear materials is fierce, but it is a field that is growing rapidly.
victorconan
Hi, everyone!
I am undergraduate student from China. I am applying to pursue a PhD degree in United States next year. I am interested in nuclear materials, but the problem is that my home school offers little course on materials science. I am affraid that students of materials science may be preferred. Should I still keep my dream of being a materials scientist in nuclear engineering?
I have some research background in materials corrosion, precisely non-irradiation induced stress corrosion cracking testing. But I find a majority of faculty in nuclear materials are focusing on irradaiton damage.
I have found some professors I am interested in, they are: Peter Hosemann at UC Berkeley; Gary Was at Umich; James Stubbins at UIUC; Todd Allen at PSU. I read lots of their papers in Journal of Nuclear Materials. How do you think of these professors? Could you recommend more professors for me?
Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
Sorry I made a mistake, Todd Allen at UW-madison

I'm in nuclear materials. When I started the program (nuclear engineering), I didn't have much background in materials (my undergrad was physics), so I don't think it's a big problem. You're expected to do some learning at grad school!