Is $17-$18 an Hour Enough for a Chemistry Graduate with Research Experience?

• Thread starter thewall12
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Salary
In summary, the individual is a recent graduate with a BSc in Chemistry and some academic research experience, but no industrial experience. They are seeking Chem I/Lab Tech jobs and plan to request a salary between $17 and $18 an hour. However, it is likely that this is too high and they should research the market salaries for similar positions. It is also recommended to avoid mentioning salary until an offer is given and to consider factors such as location, company, and competition. Additionally, taxes should be taken into account when considering a salary.
thewall12
I'm graduating with a BSc in Chemistry and I've got a couple years academic research experience but no industrial. I'm applying for a lot of Chem I/Lab Tech jobs and I'm planning on requesting between $17 and $18 an hour. Is this too much/too little?

Physics news on Phys.org
Probably too much. Depends on how good you are, where you are applying, what you'll be doing, where the area is, the type of company, the type of competition... etc etc etc.

I have no actual facts, but I really hope that $34-36K per year isn't considered too much.

Don't mention anything about salary until they give you an offer with a number. If they ask how much you want, say "negotiable" or "I would consider any serious offer that you make." Also, go to a site like glassdoor.com or salary.com and look at what salaries the market offers for those types of position. For a chemist I position, sounds like what you're asking might be at the lower end of the range. But as zhermes said, there are a lot of factors to consider.

As quoted by Dr. Evil.. A million dollars

and remember, you also need to consider taxes.

Related to Is $17-$18 an Hour Enough for a Chemistry Graduate with Research Experience?

1. What factors should I consider when determining the salary I should ask for?