Intrigued by the concept of teleportation

In summary: If not, what could be the best method for my story?I believe the best method for your story would be to include some sort of "teleporter machine" that would actually be able to teleport people and things. This would add a new level of believability to the story and make it more exciting for the reader.
Neroon
Hi.

I have always always been intrigued by the concept of teleportation and with the recent advances in quantum teleportation at the University of Innsbruck the results are encouraging. However, it should be noted that this form of teleportation doesn't allow physicists to teleport the photon itself--only its properties to another, remote photon. Here is the site:

http://www.aip.org/physnews/graphics/html/teleport.htm

I'm an aspiring science fiction writer and what I want to do in my story is achieve teleportation by actually teleporting the people themselves, not their properties. So, I began thinking about how I was going to do that. I thought about creating a teleporter that works by converting matter into energy and reconverting the energy back into matter, sort of like sending people across huge distances like radio signals.

1) Since we are talking pure theory here, is the matter/energy conversion process teleportation in the literal sense, at least theorically?

2) Does conversion of matter into energy and vice-versa in this case imply the destruction of the person undergoing the process, only to be replaced by a replica in theory?

3) If not, what could be the best method for my story?

Neroon

Last edited by a moderator:
Physics news on Phys.org