Interplanetary electromagnetic field

In summary, the conversation discusses the search for information on the interplanetary magnetic field, including its strength and variations over time. The individual is looking for references and resources, such as books and online sources, to learn more about the topic. Google Scholar is suggested as a potential resource with over 16,000 hits for the search term "interplanetary magnetic field."
rpr
I am searching information about the interplanetary magnetic field,e.g, what is its strength? Does it vary with time? (I guess so) Are there statistical model to predict its variation in space and time? ...
At the moment I have not a specific question in my mind, but I am looking for some references to know more. A couple of google searches did not get me much, even the wikipedia page does not say much.
About the level of the reference: keep in mind that I am an electrical engineer, therefore I have (I hope... ;-)) a good background in physics and mathematics.

Astronomy news on Phys.org
If you are looking for a book, a used copy of
https://www.amazon.com/dp/0521457149/?tag=pfamazon01-20
Can be found for under $20 delivered (in us). If I recall correctly, there is a chapter on the solar wind and IMF. It is a reasonable book, and your upper division EM class should be sufficient background. I would hope you could find something online if you limit searches to .edu sites, but I'm guessing you already did that.

Good luck.

Edit: here is a table of contents and my review
https://www.physicsforums.com/threa...ysics-by-m-g-kivelson-and-c-t-russell.673520/
Jason

Last edited:
You mentioned a google search, but not google scholar. This search for interplanetary magnetic field (restricted to 2015 and later) turned up over 16,000 hits. A quick look at some of the titles suggests you will find what you are looking for, though it will likely require significant filtering.

Likes davenn

1. What is an interplanetary electromagnetic field?