Interference fringes, what if you sample them?

In summary: I'm a physics professor.)In summary, the conversation discusses a double-slit experiment using photons and the possibility of distinguishing which slit the photons pass through. It is argued that interference does not occur while the photons are traveling, but rather in the environment after they hit the target screen. However, this speculation is not correct as interference can still be observed by moving the target screen. The conversation also mentions a thought experiment involving holes in the screen and the possibility of interference occurring.
David Byrden
Imagine a standard Young's Slit experiment using photons. We obtain large, distinct interference fringes on a target screen.

Then, we embed into the target screen a telescope focused on and capable of resolving the slits. The width of the lens must be greater than about one fringe to obtain this resolution. So we use a nice big lens with two or three interference bands falling upon the lens glass.

The telescope's display gradually builds up an image of the two slits.

Now, the interesting part. We paint our lens surface with opaque paint, leaving only some narrow strips unpainted. These have the same spacing as the interference bands. They are too wide to cause significant diffraction in any light passing through them.

We place our telescope in two positions;
1. the unpainted strips on the lens coincide with dark interference fringes
2. the unpainted strips on the lens coincide with bright interference fringes

A naive person might expect the telescope to register a higher rate of photon detection in [2] than in [1]. Personally I expect the rates to be the same.

But I would appreciate if somebody who really knows the subject, would tell us what will result here?

Thank you.

David

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org