Integration by parts x5(lnx)2 dx

In summary: Keep practicing and you'll get the hang of it!In summary, the conversation discusses integrating a given function using the integration by parts method. The individual is new to this method and is asking for help in understanding their attempt at solving the problem. They go through their steps and ask for feedback on where they may have gone wrong. Other users provide suggestions and corrections, ultimately leading to the correct solution.
LunarJK

Homework Statement

Integrate the following:
(Ill use { as the integration sign)

{x5(lnx)2 dx

Homework Equations

{u dv = uv - {v du

I'm really new to integration by parts, and unfortunately I am having to learn it out of a book for now. I sort of get the idea, but this one just doesn't look so right when I am done with it.

The Attempt at a Solution

u= (lnx)2
du = 2lnx(1/x) dx
v = x6/6
dv = x5dx

{u dv = (x6/6)((lnx)2) - { (x6/6)(2 lnx)(1/x)dx
= (x6/6)((lnx)2) - (1/3) { (x5)(lnx) dx

At this point I would doing integration by parts again for the integral: { (x5)(lnx) dx.

So:
u = lnx du = 1/x dx dv = x5dx v = x6/6
--> { (x5)(lnx) dx = (lnx)(x6/6) - { (x6/6)(1/x) dx
= (lnx)(x6/6) - (1/6) { x5 dx
= (lnx)(x6/6) - x6/12

Plugging this back into my original solution:

= (x6/6)((lnx)2) - (1/3)((lnx)(x6/6) - x6/12)
=(x6/6)((lnx)2) - (lnx x6/18) - x6/36This could even further be simplified i suppose by taking out some common factors of x6/6, but I don't even know if all this is right. Some let me know if I am on the right track, or where i went wrong??

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
hi LunarJK

why not try and differentiate it and see if you get the original integrand?

Last edited:
lanedance said:
hi LunarJK

why not try and differentiate it and see if you get the original integrand?

Well i tried... and i do not get the original integrand. I need some advice as to where i went wrong.

your method looks good I think you may have just mixed up some +- signs and factors