Integration by Parts in Zee's QFT: Understanding Eq. (14) to Eq. (15)

In summary, Zee uses integration by parts to get from Eq (14) to Eq (15) in his QFT in a nutshell book. This involves rewriting terms and using the property that \int d^4x \varphi^2 = \int d^4x \varphi and \int d^4x (\partial\varphi)^2 = \int d^4x (-\partial^2 \varphi). A typo in the second integral caused confusion, but it can be easily corrected by using integration by parts on the (\partial \varphi)^2 term.
noospace

Homework Statement

I'm studying from Zee's QFT in a nutshell. On page 21, I don't understand how he uses integration by parts to get from Eq (14) to Eq (15), ie from

[itex]Z = \int D \varphi e^{i \int d^4 x \{ \frac{1}{2}[(\partial \varphi)^2 - m^2 \varphi^2] + J\varphi \}}[/itex]

to

[itex]Z = \int D \varphi e^{i \int d^4 x [-\frac{1}{2}(\partial^2+m^2)\varphi + J\varphi]}[/itex].

Is he suggesting that [itex]\int d^4x \varphi^2 = \int d^4x \varphi[/itex] and [itex]\int d^4x (\partial\varphi)^2 = \int d^4x( -\partial^2 \varphi)[/itex]? If so, I'm failing to see why this should be the case.

Physics news on Phys.org
Sigh. Nevermind, there was a typo in my second integral, Eq. (15) is actually

[itex]Z = \int D \varphi e^{i \int d^4 x [-\frac{1}{2}\varphi(\partial^2+m^2)\varphi + J\varphi]}[/itex] which can be obtained easily by integration by parts on the [itex](\partial \varphi)^2[/itex] term:

[itex]\int d^4 x\, (\partial \varphi)^2 = -\int d^4x\, \varphi \partial^2\varphi[/itex].

Related to Integration by Parts in Zee's QFT: Understanding Eq. (14) to Eq. (15)

1. What is Integration by Parts?

Integration by Parts is a technique used in calculus to evaluate integrals that involve the product of two functions. It is based on the product rule of differentiation, and involves breaking down the integral into smaller, more manageable parts.

2. How is Integration by Parts used in Zee's QFT?