Integrating Compressible Flow Equations for V as a Function of x in MATLAB

In summary, the author is trying to find an expression for V as a function of x, but is having trouble integrating due to the integrals and derivatives in the equation.
yangshi

Homework Statement

( V1.4 A.4 C1 - (1/V) ) dV = dA / A
C1 is a constant, V=f(x), A=.25*pi*(.0222 - x2)
I'm trying to simplify the equation into a form with no integrals or derivatives, so I can put it into MATLAB to spit out an expression for V as a function of x. Or is it possible to put all this into MATLAB (r2011a)? Sorry about the notation; I'm new to this.

Homework Equations

The Attempt at a Solution

Derived this expression from Euler's, energy, ideal gas, continuity, and calorically perfect equations for compressible, isentropic flow. If I integrate both sides, I have trouble integrating:
V1.4 A.4 dV
It seems I have to know V(x) in the first place to integrate with respect to V.

Physics news on Phys.org
yangshi said:

Homework Statement

( V1.4 A.4 C1 - (1/V) ) dV = dA / A
C1 is a constant, V=f(x), A=.25*pi*(.0222 - x2)
I'm trying to simplify the equation into a form with no integrals or derivatives, so I can put it into MATLAB to spit out an expression for V as a function of x. Or is it possible to put all this into MATLAB (r2011a)? Sorry about the notation; I'm new to this.

Homework Equations

The Attempt at a Solution

Derived this expression from Euler's, energy, ideal gas, continuity, and calorically perfect equations for compressible, isentropic flow. If I integrate both sides, I have trouble integrating:
V1.4 A.4 dV
It seems I have to know V(x) in the first place to integrate with respect to V.

Using your definitions, we have
[tex]V^{1.4} A^{.4} dV = f(x)^{1.4} (a(b^2 - x^2))^{.4} d f(x), [/tex]
where ##a = \pi/4, \: b = 0.22##. You can write ##df(x) = f'(x) \, dx##, so your integral has the form
[tex] \int f'(x) f(x)^{1.4} (a b^2 - a x^2)^{.4} \, dx [/tex]