Integrate x^2 / (x^2 + a^2)^3/2 dx

In summary, the conversation is about a math problem that requires trigonometric substitution to solve and involves a variable "a" in the denominator of two terms in the answer. The person seeking help is a volunteer math coach with a masters in electrical engineering. They provide a solution attempt using x = atan theta, but it is incorrect. The solution is an indefinite integral and there is a mistake in the argument of the natural log.
Ray Beaver

Homework Statement

My solution has two terms divided by a which is in error. I am a volunteer math coach to some junior college students and can't find my error in the problem. Its been a while since I earned my masters in electrical engineering.

The issue is the presencce of the variable "a" in the denominator of two of the terms in the answer. I can't imagine why the "a"s are not in the correct answer.

Homework Equations

The problem requires solution by trigonometric substitution. All other equations are listed in my attempt at the problem.

The Attempt at a Solution

My work is all on the solution attempt.

Attachments

• Problem 10.jpg
    Problem 10.jpg
    21.1 KB · Views: 449
Physics news on Phys.org
Seems like an ##x=atan \theta## or ##x=asec \theta ## would work.

WWGD said:
Seems like an ##x=atan \theta## or ##x=asec \theta ## would work.

The solution I provided attempts to use x = a tan theta but the solution is incorrect

Ray Beaver said:
The solution I provided attempts to use x = a tan theta but the solution is incorrect

Is the solution an indefinite (general) or definite integral (numerical value)?

EDIT: Nevermind, I did not read carefully and did not see the 3/2 exponent. Please ignore and let me
rethink. It is a variant of the one with power 1/2, but needs some changes.

Last edited:
The solution is listed at the bottom of the attempt I posted and is indefinite.