Integral of E dot dA - conceptual

In summary, the electric flux through a surface is given by the dot product of the electric field vector and the area vector perpendicular to the surface.
quantum13

Homework Statement

A = 2i + 3j
E = 4i

determine the integral of E dot dA

Homework Equations

Integral calculus, vectors

The Attempt at a Solution

I don't understand why one could do this. The integral is of E and dA, not E and A. How can I use A to determine dA? Do I take its derivative? Then I would only get dA = 0.Also: This is part of an electric flux problem. Is this a basic of multivariate calculus? I'm indecisive on whether or not I should get a MV calc textbook - I don't have one yet, but I don't want basic questions like this holding me back either. I'm studying from Halliday's Fundamentals of Physics which apparently isn't a calculus heavy text.

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
the question isn't very celar, but here's my 2 cents...

E is the electric field vector

Generally A represent some surface or area A. dA is vector in the direction normal to surface. If n is a unit vector in that direction, dA is a scalar infintesimal area, then

[tex] \texbf{dA} = \textbf{n}dA [/tex]
with
[tex] A = \int dA [/tex]

For a vector field E, the flux is given by
[tex] \Phi = \int \textbf{E} \bullet \textbf{dA} [/tex]

physically the dot product means if the vector is parallel to the surface its contribution is zero, or maximum when it is perpindiuclar to the surface (passing through it). The integral just sums all the contributions across the whole surface.

so is there anymore to make the question clearer?
what area do you integrate over?
A is given as a vector - does this represent a normal to a plane or something?

quantum13 said:

Homework Statement

A = 2i + 3j
E = 4i

determine the integral of E dot dA

Homework Equations

Integral calculus, vectors

The Attempt at a Solution