Improve Your Physics Skills: Tips for Year 9 Students

In summary, if you are a year 9 student looking to understand physics well and become the top student in your advanced science class, you can start by studying and grabbing a used physics textbook. However, it is important to focus on understanding the concepts rather than just mastering the math behind it. The Feynman Lectures may be too advanced for your level, so it is recommended to start with a textbook like Hewitt's Conceptual Physics.
ZiHao
I am a year 9 student now and I really want to understand physics very well, what can I do? I don't want to spend time playing and walking around with my friends at school. Being the top student in my advanced science class is my target. Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
ZiHao said:
I am a year 9 student now and I really want to understand physics very well, what can I do? I don't want to spend time playing and walking around with my friends at school. Being the top student in my advanced science class is my target. Thanks!

Study. Grab a used physics textbook from somewhere and start reading through it and doing the problems. You can find used textbooks for very cheap on amazon and probably at many bookstores.

Arman777 said:
With all due respect, The Feynman Lectures are the wrong thing for a HS freshman to read. They are way too advamced.

A lot of people confuse learning physics with mastering the math behind it. In my opinion, the key to learning physics is to understand the concepts. The math can come later.

OP, get a copy of Hewitt's Conceptual Physics. He has written a version for HS students too. Really learn the concepts of why the physical world around you behaves the way it does. The calculus and equations will come in due time.

Scrumhalf said:
With all due respect, The Feynman Lectures are the wrong thing for a HS freshman to read. They are way too advamced.