I'm looking for some interesting calculus/physics problems to do

• Thread starter mcnallyhamster
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Interesting
In summary, the conversation revolves around a physics student looking for complex projects to work on. A user recommends three texts, "Electricity and Magnetism" by Purcell & Morin for difficult problems, "Calculus" by Apostol for challenging calculus problems, and "Calculus" by Spivak for more theoretical and advanced exercises. Another user suggests working on the problems in the textbook "Halliday/Resnick" before moving on to other texts.
mcnallyhamster
Hello!

I'm new to physicsforums, and actually I'm kinda new to physics in general. I've recently switched my major to physics in college and I absolutely love it; this is what I've always wanted to do! I would love to do some complex physics/calculus related projects, not really in the sense of making anything, but more so in the sense of doing the math. I've taken general mechanics and am currently in electromagnetism - anything from these areas would be great. Don't worry about it being too difficult! I have to say that for some reason I'm especially interesting in magnetism and gravity, like in space. I don't know why... Anyway, thank you in advance for any suggestions! I've been going through problems in my physics textbook also but I'd love to do something anyone here recommends.

Physics news on Phys.org
Well, if you're into difficult, but interesting problems then I would advice the following three texts:

1) "Electricity and Magnetism" by Purcell & Morin. The newest edition contains a wealth of soul-breaking problems. Don't worry, the exercises are star-coded, so you know beforehand whether a problem is going to be difficult or not.

That said, David Morin (the author of the book) has a website filled with many interesting physics and math questions: https://www.physics.harvard.edu/academics/undergrad/problems It has solutions as well!