I'm a UK Student with the chance to go to the US, but where?

In summary, as a UK student, you have the opportunity to study in the US. With many universities and colleges to choose from, it can be overwhelming to decide where to go. Consider factors such as location, program offerings, and cost to find the best fit for your academic and personal goals. Also, don't forget to research the cultural and social aspects of different cities or states to ensure a well-rounded experience. Ultimately, the decision of where to go should be based on what will provide the best learning and growth opportunities for you.
Ellegal
So I'm currently in the process of completing my ACT on a program that will help me apply to the US. As conceited as this may seem, I'm thinking of applying to either Stanford, Caltech, MIT or Harvard (for undergrad). Yes obviously they're all some of the best on the planet, but I do have a small chance. I can only put one for Early Decision, and so I was wondering which one would be the most appropriate. Hopefully a few people on here know these places well enough to guide me.

My aspirations are to study theoretical/particle/cosmological physics. I'm not a practical guy, so engineering courses aren't preferable. I would like to have a decent social life; I want to be able to mix with people with similar academic pursuits, as well as others. Variety is the spice of life ;)

MIT strikes me as the obvious 'FOR SCIENCE GO HERE' place. But is it really where I should be? Should I not be too concerned on the research aspects of the universities for undergrad; should I save research interest for grad schools. Or should research be a big thing to consider right now? Obviously places like LIGO and Fermilab are the coolest places alive and given their strong connections with MIT and Caltech, should this be a consideration?

I would like to keep up my swimming, but I highly doubt I'm the standard for Harvard's teams.