I am tired of using Maple, I am going to switch over to Mathematica

In summary: The professional license has more features (like being able to share the license with others,) but it is more expensive.
flyingpig

Homework Statement

That's right, Maple is the dumbest program in existence. Everything I try to erase a line by hitting delete or backspace, it won't disappear. When I want to use an function, I have to load a package ex. "Student Linear Algebra" to use a certain command.

Sometimes the commands give you only one solution when you are trying to use a root finder.

Sometimes it switches to text mode on you when you are on math mode. Sometimes your text mode is red and an error message keeps poping up and you have no clue what's going on.

I could go on.

So the problem? I am going to switch to Mathematica

The Attempt at a Solution

http://www.wolfram.com/mathematica-home-edition/?src=google&129+[mathematica]&gclid=CMnb3PqK8KYCFQcKbAodrgcGEA

I am a college student and I have no idea which edition should I purchase, does a new version work better? Is it just like Microsoft word that they change the interface?

I use Wolfram from time to time and I have to say IT KNOWS EXACTLY WHAT I WANT. Not only does it show me the steps, it graphs, it does everything.

I also find the commands much easier to learn.

Physics news on Phys.org
I'm with you on that, but I'm going to have to stick to Maple since that's what my course uses.

All editions of Mathematica are the same features and interface. The differencesare in the licensing. IE Who is allowed to use them.

If you are a college student then your cheapest option is the Student Edition.

JonMcLoone said:
All editions of Mathematica are the same features and interface. The differencesare in the licensing. IE Who is allowed to use them.

If you are a college student then your cheapest option is the Student Edition.

What does it mean then? The licensing?

flyingpig said:
What does it mean then? The licensing?