I am a student interested in power engineering

In summary, an electrical engineer should focus on learning digital circuits and digital signal processing. These are important topics for any electrical engineer, but they are especially relevant to power engineering.
lankman
Hi!

I am a student from the US who is going into second year at a tech University and I am interested in becoming a power engineer after I finish my 4 year and obtain a bachelor degree in Electrical Engineering.

I would like to consult and know more about this career option from other fellow engineers who may or may not be working in the power industry. Note: I do not know much about power engineering so please fill me in on the deficiencies of my knowledge!

• First of all, I would just like to know what I should know before I try to get a job in this field. Would I need a working knowledge in PLC, VLSI, programming in assembly, or even perhaps a working knowledge of electromagnetism? Please recommend me any courses that you found applicable to working as an engineer or texts if there are any.

• Secondly, please tell me what are the most frequent tools that are used in power engineering and how I can get some practice with these tools before I graduate. For example, maybe a GUI application written in C? AutoCad drawing in 3D?

• Thirdly, please inform me as to the extend of activities for which a power engineer may come in contact with in the actual work field. Would I have to fix something hand on?