HS AP Chem question - mass % of each compound in a sample

In summary: So, if your answer to this question is close to but not exactly what the question asks for, be sure to round off your answer to the nearest significant figure.
altay
I am new to AP Chem and given a problem that I cannot begin to figure out how to compute. None of my calculations come up with the correct answer. How do I work through this?

PROBLEM: A sample containing NACl, SA2S04 and NAN03 (the number are sub), gives the following elemental analysis: NA: 32.08%; O: 36.01%; Cl: 19.51%. Calculate the mass percent of each compound in the sample?

How do I do this. My calculations are not coming out. Please help

Physics news on Phys.org
1. Unless you show us what effort you've made we can't help you. Please read the posting guidelines. We need to first see what thoughts or ideas you have.

2. What is "SA2SO4" (there's no such compound) ?

3. Henceforth, please post similar questions under the Homework & Coursework subforum.

Challengenging

Sorry, not sure where to post everything. First time on site as user.

#2 should be NA2SO4

What I have done!

Cl: 12.42% 12.41/19.51 = 1.56 cl: 8.05 (8.051/8.02 = 1.00)
NACl - 58.14g
T=20.47%
A=32.14% NOTE This answer is supposed tobe32.17%

Na: 16.11% O=22.42 Na2SO4 = 142.05g
32.14+20.50=52.72 T=49.76%
A=20.58 45.69

0 .5.83 NaNO3 =.05 g
Na ? T 29.77%
A 15.45 27.39

Na 4/32.08% = 8.02%
O= 7/36.01% = 5.14%
Cl= 19.51%

S=x
N=y
TOTAL of S & N = 12.04

Total of all =100%

How do I figure out the mass percent of the sample?

Help: altay

1) Welcome to PF :smile:

2) Generally, you would post such questions here. Also, you can sometimes ask PF moderators/admins to 'move' your thread to a more appropriate forum.