How to understand design layout (VLSI)

In summary, the SR latch is a basic circuit that is used in many different applications. The layout is a helpful way to understand the schematic.
dafaq
i am a beginner and i am learning cmos design technique .. i found this layout (attached) and i am not sure how to decompose and understand it - like what function is it implementing and how.. if anyone can help -----

Attachments

• Capture.PNG
    Capture.PNG
    54.7 KB · Views: 675
Engineering news on Phys.org
It's an SR NOR latch - the schematic is shown at this site. Are you familiar with MOS transistors at all? If not, this youtube tutorial should explain the basics. In this layout, the following colors are used:

Red - Poly gate
Orange - P+ Diffusion
Green - N+ Diffusion
Blue - Metal-1
Filled Aqua squares - contacts that connect the Metal-1 to the poly and diffusion layers.

Try tracing out the layout and matching it to the schematic of the SR latch. If you have more questions, ask!

Phyzguy is right. This latch would be used, for example, as the sense amp in an SRAM.

Tracing it out is the way to go. Start by following the gates (red lines) and see where they cross diffusions to create transistors. Keeping in mind that two devices often share a diffusion.

Also, the dotted blue line around the top devices is a N-Well. This is a p-substrate process (I know that because the nmos devices on the bottom of the layout are implemented in the substrate and not in a well).

The square near the VDD label is a well contact and the square near the GND label is a substrate contact. These are needed to reduce the resistance between the circuit and the well/substrate to mitigate latch-up.

Good luck! This is a good circuit to get started on!

@phyzguy :) yep i know about mos ... but i am not familiar with layout designing :( i know the basics but i don't know how to back trace it ! let me go through the materials u provided and then i will ask again..