How to solve Chips in milling machine?

• Thread starter wise318
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Machine
In summary, the conversation discusses the issue of chips being produced while milling a glass material called BK7 using an Ichikawa Milling machine. The person asking the question is experiencing chips on the edges of the material after doing a cutting process called "ralf cutting" with a speed of 60. The responder suggests clarifying the terminology used and recommends trying a lighter cut at a higher speed with a slower feed rate.
wise318
1)Anyone can figure out the chips problem due to milling a glass material BK7.?
2) I am using Ichikawa Milling machine where the table rotate and the spindle rotate to mill the material. After do ralf cutting which I set the speed to 60. It produces chips on the edges of the piece.

Engineering news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF, Wise. You might need to clarify your question. I've had limited experience with machine tools, and your terminology is meaningless to me.
I've never heard of 'ralf-cutting', and your number '60' could mean anything from rpm's to depth of cut in thousandths. Please be more specific.

edit: As to the '60', I know that you said that the speed was set to '60', but that could still indicate a progressive depth vs. time as opposed to just rpm's.

First thing I would try is to take a lighter cut at a higher speed with a slower feed rate.

Related to How to solve Chips in milling machine?

1. What are chips in a milling machine?

Chips in a milling machine are small pieces of material that are removed from the workpiece during the milling process. These chips can be made of various materials, such as metal, wood, or plastic.

2. Why is it important to solve chips in a milling machine?