How to select the smooth atlas to use for spacetime?

In summary: He talks about a pathological case in which there are uncountably many smooth atlases that are compatible with a curve, but he doesn't provide any examples.There is a resolution - we make some additional assumptions/theorem that show that differentiability is a well-defined notion even across smooth atlases.In summary, the differentiability of a curve in spacetime is independent of the choice of coordinates.
Shirish
I'm studying differential geometry basics for general relativity (no specific source, just googling around). I know that spacetime is modeled as a ##4##-dimensional smooth manifold. Smooth manifold means that we consider a restriction of the maximal atlas such that all charts in it are compatible.

From what I've read, it seems like the differentiability of curves depends on the atlas we're using (I could be wrong about this, please correct me in that case). So a curve may be differentiable w.r.t. one atlas and not to another.

What if there are multiple non-equivalent restrictions of the maximal atlas such that their charts are compatible? I tried searching for a result that conveniently tells us, for example, that there's a unique such restriction. On the contrary, I found that there can be uncountably many such atlases!

So then which one do we select? The differentiability of a curve ("existence of velocities") in spacetime shouldn't depend on our choice, right? Do we make any additional assumptions to make this notion well-defined w.r.t. choice of atlas?

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Shirish said:
From what I've read, it seems like the differentiability of curves depends on the atlas we're using (I could be wrong about this, please correct me in that case)

You are wrong. The differentiability of a curve in spacetime is independent of any choice of coordinates.

Likes vanhees71
PeterDonis said: