How to Normalize the Basic Wave Equation

In summary: And also that the expectation values of x and x2 would be.Don't wory, this is not for a class, I am studying this on my ownPsi^2 leads to a Gaussian integral, which is done by completing the square in the exponent.<x> is zero bly symmetry.<x^2>is found by integrating by parts.After playing with this I foundA = \sqrt[4]{\frac{2am}{\hbar\pi}}*e^{ait}making \Psi = \sqrt[4]{\frac{2am}{\hbar\pi}}*e^{-am
Marthius
This is a fairly simple question, but the first such question I have done. Inorder to check my work I was hoping somone could show me how to normalize the following.

[tex]\Psi(x,t) = Ae^{-a[(mx^{2}/\hbar)+it][/tex]
where m is the particles mass

And also that the expectation values of x and x2 would be.

Don't wory, this is not for a class, I am studying this on my own

Physics news on Phys.org
Psi^2 leads to a Gaussian integral, which is done by completing the square in the exponent.
<x> is zero bly symmetry.
<x^2>is found by integrating by parts.

After playing with this I found

[tex]A = \sqrt[4]{\frac{2am}{\hbar\pi}}*e^{ait}[/tex]

making

[tex]\Psi = \sqrt[4]{\frac{2am}{\hbar\pi}}*e^{-amx^{2}/\hbar}[/tex]

Can annyone confirm this for me because I am really uncomfortable with my answer.

that looks alright, but have you lost your time component along the way? when calculating [tex]\left|A\right|^{2}[/tex] the time-dependence drops off, but you need to be sure to attach your value for [tex]A[/tex] to the full wavefunction. i think it should look like this? [tex]\Psi\left(x,t\right)=\left(2ma/\pi\hbar\right)^{1/4}e^{-amx^{2}/\hbar}e^{-iat}[/tex]

tshafer said: