How to learn the math needed for more advanced physics course?

In summary, the speaker is a college student from China studying physics and facing difficulties with the math in graduate-level books. They have taken a math-physics course but struggle with equations that cannot be solved using traditional methods. They are seeking advice on how to improve their math skills and whether they should focus on a specific book or take a more advanced math-physics course. They also mention the difficulty of finding experienced help in their college and ask for assistance from anyone who is proficient in math. The respondent suggests getting a PDE book and focusing on solving linear PDEs before attempting to study graduate-level books, and advises against struggling with Jackson's book.
cuixiaohao
Hi,there,
I'm a college student of physics from China, and I've taken most undergrad physics course. when I tried to study some graduate-level books and some journal papers, I got a problem in math .
In graduate level books (say, Jackson's for example), There are pages of math tricks I don't understand. I've taken a math-physics course and get some idea about Partial-diff equations and Bessel functions, etc. But when the equations can't use separate method, I don't know what to do with it. And in graduate level books, there are so many math tricks like magic.
My question is : Where did they get these math techniques? Should I get a more advanced math-physics course? or should I stick on one grad-book like Jackson's, and work more harder on it.
My college is not very good and it's hard to find a experienced person to ask. So I wonder is there anyone here who can do these math in ease will give me some help?

Physics news on Phys.org