How to get involved in research as a transfer

• Thread starter allazar
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Research
In summary, the speaker has recently been accepted into a university and plans to study physics and get involved in research. However, they are unsure of how to approach and impress potential advisors. They seek advice from others who have gone through a similar experience and are willing to share their insights. Suggestions include checking faculty pages, joining local physics organizations, attending colloquia, and emailing professors directly.
allazar
I got accepted into a nice university not to long ago. I have been a cc student for 2 years, making me a transfer student. I will be studying physics and i would really like to be involved in RUE's/Research Groups/Research in General.

My only problem is, i have no clue on who to approach, who to talk to, or how to seem impressive.

Has anyone gone through something like this and is willing to share advice?
If so, I'd greatly appreciate whatever way you can help.

Physics news on Phys.org
Check the faculty pages at your university to see what professors do work that interest you. If you've got local physics organization chapters at your school, join them, and ask around to see if any of them have done research with faculty (in a physics department, chances are, someone will be able to help you). Good luck!

Typically you start by asking around. A good place to start is with your own professors. You can approach them during office hours and ask if they are aware of any opportunities for you to get involved with research.

Another good place is other students. If you have a physics student society, go to their meetings and talk with the senior undergrads.