How to get into a top graduate school from an unknown university?

In summary, international students admitted to UT Arlington with 100% tuition scholarship for fall 2016 have a lot of guidance in the form of American professors. There are a few queries that international students should ask in order to have the best chance of admission to graduate school. The timeline of study for international students should be 4 years with a summer break and an winter vacation.
Phys12
I am an international student and I was admitted to UT Arlington with 100% tuition scholarship for fall 2016. The reasons why I couldn't make it to a better university are lack of guidance and lack of funds. But now, I will have all the guidance in the world since I'm going to an American university.

I know all the important criteria for admission to graduate school:
1) High GPA and class rank.
2) Great recommendation letters.
3) Substantial amount of research experience.
4) Decent GRE scores.
5) Good statement of purpose.

However, I had a few queries regarding my admission for graduate school and it would be highly appreciated if you guys could help me out:

1) As I'm going to a university which isn't at all known for its Physics department (although, most professors there graduated from a top university), what are the options I can pursue for research? I will definitely ask the professors there if I can help them in their research as a research assistant right from my freshman year. However, if I'm coming from an unknown university, won't it reduce my chances of doing better researches are better institution? How can I solve this problem?

2) What exactly should the timeline of my 4 years be? I understand that I'll have to study very hard and all, but I'm thinking about internships and research experience. Should I go for internships every summer? Can I take my winter vacations too? What exactly should the timetable be of the next 4 years of my life?