How to enter the Physics path; after getting an unrelated degree.

In summary: I don't really know if they would have taken me even if I did have the ACT/SAT scores, because physics is not an easy major to get into... but I guess that's something to check into.In summary, the author is an experienced college graduate who is currently looking for a job in physics. He has a bachelor's degree in political science from a US school, and he is good at math. He is not sure if he would be able to get into a physics program if he did not have an undergraduate degree in physics already. He is in the first year of his two-year degree program and is not worried about it. He should contact the universities he wants to go to to
ofaaron
Let me just state my situation.

I got a bachelor's degree recently, and I've been looking for work. However, the past several years I've been back and forth on wanting to study physics.

If I did want to, I'm unsure how I would go about that. I guess I'm technically not an undergraduate anymore, but I've certainly taken no classes that have prepared me for physics. Also, my school had its own testing if you didn't have SAT or ACT scores, so I've never taken those. My GPA was not horrible during college, but nothing I would want to use to show off to look for a masters or doctorate program. I was not worrying about it, because GPA was entirely unimportant for the career my major was intended for.

I am good at math, though, and what I have taken of physics has never been over my head (although I'm sure it will get there as I study it.) I don't think I am lacking in the ability to be a physicist. I was just not planning on it at all.

What would be the best course of action for getting into a physics program of any kind at this point. I am in the U.S. and if it isn't obvious, I'm not entirely clear about the ins and outs of undergraduate/postgraduate college workings.

Physics news on Phys.org