How to Emigrate to USA | Tips & Advice

• Thread starter jamesa00789
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Usa
In summary, the conversation is about a British physics student wanting to work in the USA after completing his Masters in applied mathematics and computing. He is seeking advice on how to obtain a visa and a job offer, and the difficulties associated with it. Some suggestions include getting a PhD or Masters in the USA, finding a job with a multinational company, or starting a business. The conversation also includes anecdotes and opinions on emigrating to different countries.
jamesa00789
Hi,

I'm not sure why I'm posting here but because Physicists generally know everything...

Im British and I have a First Class Honours degree in Physics (the highest grade possible in the british system) and I'm currently doing a masters in applied mathematics and computing (finishing next september) and I really want to work in the USA after completion.

So how would I go about doing this? I literally have no idea where to start and I want to do my research early. Obviously I need a visa and a job offer, both are extremely difficult to come by - but I just need a starting place! I would be looking for anything mathematical such as finance (I do a lot of finance modules) or I.T.

Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
Anecdote, take it FWIW: I know someone that emigrated from the Arab Emirates and did his undergraduate degree in the US, later got a job there. The employer basically has to be willing to "sponsor your visa" or something to that avail, generally it'll only happen if its a high paying/skilled job. After that, getting a permanent residency status is apparently easier.

However I have no idea how this works for EU nationals, perhaps obtaining a greencard is easier. You could start by looking at the INS' webpage.