How to Change Variables in an Integral?

In summary, the problem is to determine the Euler-Lagrange equation for the inverse of y, denoted x(y), that minimizes the functional J[x(y)] = ∫F(x(y),y,1/x')*x'*dx. This can be achieved by using the change of variables s=y(x) and the rule for derivatives of inverse functions to rewrite the original functional in terms of the new variable, s. The resulting functional can then be solved using known methods for finding the Euler-Lagrange equation for an action functional.
Noctisdark

Homework Statement

Determine the Lagrange-Euler equation for the functional J[y] = ∫F(x,y,y')dx = ∫F(x(y),y,1/x')*x' dx = I[x(y)]

Homework Equations

The Lagrange-Euler equations ∂F/∂y = d(∂F/∂y')/dx

The Attempt at a Solution

I'm new to the subject, so I don't really know what to do, I've tried to use taylor theorem and finite differences method but in vain, maybe I've done it wrong, my last attempt was ∂F/∂y = ∂F/∂x * ∂x/∂y, ∂F/∂y' = ∂F/∂x*∂x/∂y', but i didn't come to express ∂x/∂y' in simpler terms, can anyone help ?

Physics news on Phys.org
Just to have the notation clear, you want to find the Euler-Lagrange equation for the functional:

$$J(y(x)) = \int_a^b F(x, y(x), y'(x)) \space dx$$

The limits are important because they impose boundary conditions on ##y(x)##. Namely, ##y(a) = A## and ##y(b) = B## for some ##A, B \in \mathbb{R}##.

I am unsure why you have written the functional is equal to ∫F(x(y),y,1/x')*x' dx in your original post. This doesn't make sense due to a few reasons, one being ##y## is a function of ##x##.

You have somehow written the answer to your problem in the relevant equations, i.e the Euler-Lagrange equation is given by:

$$\frac{\partial F}{\partial y} - \frac{d}{dx} \frac{\partial F}{\partial y'} = 0$$

You have provided no explanation how you have obtained it though.

Likes Noctisdark
Noctisdark said:

Homework Statement