How to begin a career change to physics?

In summary: I'm still interested! I guess what I'm wondering is whether I should continue on with undergraduate and graduate degrees in physics, even if I only finish one course per semester. That seems like a lot of time and effort, but if it turns out that I really enjoy it and it's something that I could see myself doing for the long haul, then that's what I'll do.Thank you, Niflheim. I agree, and I'm fully aware that I really don't know what I'd be getting into with formal physics study. As I mentioned in my opening post, that's why I want to take an introductory undergrad physics course first, to...well, to see if I
LawyerMom
I'm a 38-year-old lawyer who left my law practice in NYC a few months ago to stay home with my toddler. I am also expecting a second child. I have a deep regret that I did not study physics, astronomy, and mathematics in university. I started as a math major and completed almost enough credits for a minor. But I ended up with a triple major in the humanities; worked a couple of years; graduated magna cum laude from a top-10 law school; and practiced for 8 years as a lawyer in NYC. I would like to take a basic undergraduate physics course to test my interest -- preferably online, if well-respected, or at a university in NYC. If I am still as interested as I think I am, then I want to complete undergraduate and graduate degrees in physics -- as slowly as it takes, even one course per semester, even if I finish when I'm 55! I am looking for advice on (1) WELL-RESPECTED online courses in physics; (2) physics B.S. programs in NYC for career changers that would not require me to re-take all the non-science requirements; (3) physics programs geared toward a strong interest in astronomy/earth science (astrophysics?). (As an aside, the last physics course I took was AP Physics in high school in 1993-94!) Thank you!

Physics news on Phys.org