How important is GPA for graduate admissions in physics?

In summary: GPA and have taken physics courses beyond General Physics, you should not have any difficulty getting into a graduate program in physics. However, you should be aware that the GPA is only one of many factors that are taken into account. Other important factors include references, research experience, and performance on the PGRE.
Ken-Ken
Hello all,

A little background, skip to the end if you don't want to read:
I am an undergraduate at a small state university WITHOUT a physics department. I got bitten by the physics "bug" after two semesters of freshman physics and have been delving into the other branches of the science ever since (so for around 3 years now). I really want to pursue graduate studies in physics, and as of now my main areas of focus are in theoretical physics.
I'm getting into research and one of my former physics professors has been sort of an "advisor" to me because of my interest in pursuing a career in it. I've been a teaching assistant and tutor for general physics I and II, and I was supposed to do an REU this summer but due to family issues I had to put it off. I'm intending to do one in summer 2013. I'm going to be an undergrad for at least 2 more years, so I'm going to do one the summer after as well if I can.
I'm not one of those people who has ever been all that concerned with getting straight A's, but more so with having a complete comprehension of the material in my classes. Meaning: I've had a few C's and a good handful of B's, but I understand the material as thoroughly as the students who got A's, and better in some cases. I also work full time and am the only source of income in my family, so in earlier years I had a few days where I chose to work instead of finishing an assignment.