How important is an internship for a non-traditional student

In summary, the conversation discusses the challenges faced by a 30-year-old Electrical Engineering student in obtaining a summer internship due to financial constraints and location limitations. The individual has prior work experience in non-technical fields and is questioning the importance of internships for job prospects in the engineering field. The response emphasizes the significance of internships and research experience for engineering students and suggests showcasing outside-the-classroom projects as a way to stand out to potential employers. The individual is seeking advice on how to mitigate the potential weakness of not having an internship.
Vagabond7
A bit more info. I am 30, went back to college at 27 for an Electrical Engineering Degree. I have one year left after this semester. I have a wife and a mortgage and a job (non technical, I work in the service industry) Getting an internship is a challenging endeavor for me. I have bills to pay, so I need steady paid work. I'll still need to come back to my normal job after a summer internship, so I would need to work both jobs at the same time so as not to lose my steady job. I also can't just up and leave my general area to go get an internship somewhere else in the country. I live in the southern US (Kentucky), so there aren't just tons of engineering internships within an hour drive. The number of engineering students significantly outnumber the local engineering internships.