In summary, Hawking radiation is a type of radiation that is produced when particles fall into a black hole. This radiation is governed by the Heisenberg uncertainty principle, and it is short-lived.
Jaami M.
I'm very new to the understanding of Hawking Radiation. I don't know much about this theory, but I do know that Hawking radiation works on a Quantum scale. I know that with black holes this theory proposes th idea that over time black hole lose mass because of "Spontaneous appearing positive and negative energy particles
Affect the black hole". Negative takes the mass away whil positive manages to escape the black hole resulting in the category of radiation (energy). But how does this all work? And how can particles appear from nothing? I thought "no matter can be created" nor destroyed.

Science news on Phys.org
Matter is routinely created and destroyed in particle accelerators.

Hello Jaami, welcome to PF :smile: !

I take it that like me you did some googling and it didn't help you. (not even http://www.mpa-garching.mpg.de/lectures/ADSEM/SS03_Schmidt.pdf p 16 ?) .
Because of your "And how can particles appear from nothing?" I expect you want some popular explanation, no scientificspeak.

It so happens that particles can appear from nothing, provided their appearance doesn't last all that long. Pretty short, in fact, given that the governing formula from quantum mechanics (google Heisenberg uncertainty principle) is ## \Delta E \Delta t \le \hbar / 2##. For ##\Delta E## you can read the energy of the particle concerned, and we don't consider it a real particle but a 'virtual' particle. A few other conditions apply regarding quantum numbers, which restricts this weird phenomenon to particles and antiparticles: they appear out of nowhere (the vacuum is apparently well populated) and annihilate each other almost immediately.