How does an electrical signal physically flow in a processor

In summary: The first thing you need to understand is binary. Binary is just a numbering system that uses 0s and 1s. A digital signal is made up of tiny bits, or 'binary digits'. Each binary digit is made up of two components: a 0 and a 1. The 0 and 1 are represented by small electric currents going up and down on wires called 'bits'. The number of bits in a digital signal is always the same size, no matter how big the signal. The bits in a
DIVERGENCEMASTER47
I am a high school student interested in electronics. I have been able to understand almost everything about electricity and digital computers mosfets, logic gates,memory,cpu, fetching ,decoding, executing ,clock cycles, etc. except there is one thing that I can't seem to grasp my head around, how do binary instructions 0s and 1s get read by the processor in what physical form ? is it a bit stream like a square wave that goes up and down signifying a 0 and a 1 like an AC signal, or are certain wires powered and certain wires powered off and connected together like a bus so that if 4 wires were on and 4 were off then at the end of the bus there would be 11110000 and the processor would understand it ? Could someone please elaborate on the physical elctrical nature of how binary data is transmitted through the billions of transistors inside a processor? and how the processor would know where the signal was ? thank you.

Engineering news on Phys.org